I am Praying for President Obama…How About You?

Maybe it’s just me…

But I am praying for President Obama more than I ever have prayed for any other President.  As a matter of fact, I do not think I ever prayed specifically for George W. Bush in all of his eight years in office.  Oh, sure, I  did the typical, “Lord, be with our leaders as they lead this country” kind of prayer…but not once did I spend time in prayer where I called out George Bush’s name and prayed specifically for him as an person.  I am ashamed at myself.

This week, after hearing parts of a sermon by a preacher called  ”Why I hate Barack Obama” I am troubled at the condition of some of our churches and some people’s perspective as  Christians.  This sermon deeply upset me.  How can it be that someone who calls themselves a believer stand up in front of others he is trying to lead to a relationship with Christ and say that he prays at night that “Barack Obama would die and go to hell.”   After listening to the message, the reaction from the congregation was almost as chilling.  The shouts of “AMEN!!!” were rising as the sermon went on to the point that if the man himself walked in the room I would fear what might have happened to him.  All of this done…in the name of the Lord and in self-righteous indignation.

On any given night, I can watch a news program and see where “religious zealots” strap bombs to themselves to kill others in the name of their god.  My hope is that we as believer’s are not falling in line to wish death on anyone let alone wishing an eternity in hell for them as well.  The defense and cause for dying for our faith comes in “not denying Christ and His salvation”.  It has nothing to do with the demise and death of another, let alone a wish for someone to spend eternity in hell.

Regardless of Obama’s policies or even the choices in life he has made, nothing he has done has warranted this prayer from this man.  Even if one would say he was evil (which I don’t) the Bible would say pray for your enemies, pray for everyone’s salvation.  The Lord is not willing that any should perish (2 Peter 3:9).

I am deeply troubled by this man preaching this about anyone, let alone our president. Though I am NOT an Obama supporter politically, I do pray that God would lead him in leading our country.   That does not mean I have to agree with everything the president does or that I do not have the right to express my displeasure at times.  Those of you that know me, are well aware of the fact that I will express my feelings about something I disagree with.  However, I wish him no ill.  God asks us to pray for our leaders, I am praying for his salvation.  I will let God deal with the judgement and the punishment of sin.  It’s not my job, nor is it yours.

So I also pray for those who called themselves believers in that congregation and in all churches across this world.  My hope is that we all realize the truth of God’s Word and that we understand that love and grace  is poured out to all men.  Even if we don’t agree politically.

But then again…maybe it’s just me.

Leave a comment