In Case You Missed It

This past weekend was the Christian celebration of the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  It is what we call Easter.  In the midst of the chocolate and the bunnies, jelly beans  and the Cadbury eggs, I wanted to remind everyone that the reason for the celebration was much more than an egg hunt and a family get together. 

I am afraid that you missed it and in case you did I wanted to give you a chance to be reminded of the reality of the resurrection of Christ.   It’s a celebration of so much more than we can even explain or think about in a Sunday afternoon.  The bottom line is that it’s about God’s love for us.   Because He loved us He came, became one of us, died for our sins, and then rose to give us His life and hope for the future.   It was all because of His love that the events of the last weekend happened more than 2,000 years ago.

The greatest truth of Easter is that God loves you.  In fact, His love is the reason for the Christian faith.   I can’t think of another religion on the planet that declares, as the Christian faith does, that our God loves us and that’s why Jesus became a man and died just for us.  

It’s an amazing story all based on love.  

No other faith has such a reason for its existence.  

No other religion has a God passionately in love with His creation as the God of the Bible.

Personally, this message is my greatest solace.   It’s core to my faith.   It defines who I am.

There is a simple verse that every Christian knows, but most miss the heart behind God’s actions….

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

It was love that put this whole Jesus story into action and it was a love eternally working in past history. That’s the entire message of the Bible – God loves us.   It’s the golden thread woven throughout the Bible. And it’s what keeps drawing me closer to Him.   As I grow closer to God I see him not as a judge, a fearsome God waiting to punish me, but I see a loving Father waiting to embrace me…..with all my messy life included.

God loves me.  He loves you. 

In case you missed it…that’s the message of Easter.

About David Michael Lee

I’m simply a guy with a head full of thoughts, a computer and a blog program. Nothing more... nothing less.

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Christianity, encouragement, forgiveness, Grace, Legacy, Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 679 other followers

