It was 38 years ago today…

I just want to share with everyone that reads this, that it was 38 years ago today my brother was killed in a car / train accident.

I started a group called “The Legacy Builder” on Facebook, so that people could have a place to post stories, videos and pictures to honor someone who has made a difference in their life.  That is the main purpose for why I originally started this group, so we could leave a lasting record of their importance in our lives.

So with the election now over, maybe we can focus on something else. I wanted to share with you the life of my brother who was killed on November 5, 1970.

Robert Allen Lee was born on June 9, 1956 and was the second of four children born into my family.

While my oldest brother, Jim and I loved sports, Bobby loved the outdoors and animals. He loved to hunt and trap. He always had some kind of pet whether it was a rabbit, a hamster or a bird.

On this day 38 years ago, he was in a car driven by my cousin (Larry Mills) that came to pick me up from school. In the car with him was his best friend Harold “Buster” Chandler. They picked me up from school and we headed for home. Larry was going to drop me off, then take Bobby and Buster to where they had some trap lines to check.

As we pulled into the driveway, I asked Larry if I could ride with him to drop the boys off. He said that my Mom had told him to drop me off first. I opened the car door and my Mom opened the front door of the house. I asked her if I could go with them and my mom said no. Like any other kid, I asked again and when she said no again, I shouldered past her going into the house. I bumped into her and was mumbling under my breath about how stupid it was that she would not let me go.

Just a few minutes later, two blocks down the street, …they were hit by a train. All three were killed instantly. Larry was 18, Buster was 13 and my brother Bobby was 14.

I was 10 at the time and I am thankful for the time that I had with my brother. I still miss him and think of him often. I wonder what he would be like today.

To this very day, my Mom cannot tell you why she told me no. 98% of the time she would have said yes…

As a result of his death, I was led to the saving knowledge of the Lord Jesus Christ two days later in the back of Robinson’s Funeral Home in Oak Harbor. My whole family found the Lord as a result of it.

Please take a minute of your day and look at the pictures I posted on the “Legacy Builder” site on Facebook and give honor to my brother, my cousin and my family.

Thank You.

Leave a Reply

