Is God Pleased? Are You Everything He Wants You to Be?

Maybe it’s just me…

But I have been challenged with a question that has been weighing heavily on my mind for a while.

A few weeks ago, I sat in my office, putting together the final touches of a presentation I have to make.  The President of the company I work for, is coming in for our First Quarter Business Review. I have worked hard on this presentation.  Reviewing it over and over, making sure I cover all the information that he has asked for.  I was using all the latest tools and tricks of media presentation to communicate the details of my review. In light of the current business condition that my company is dealing with, some of the information is not good.  Sales numbers are down, the forecast of future orders are weak and our raw material cost are increasing daily.  I was not going to let some bad news of poor business conditions get in the way of making a good presentation.

Just then,  a co-worker came up to my desk and said, “Will he be pleased with your presentation?”

I  blurted out, “Of course, I have tried so hard to practice it and I am going over the timing and I have included all the information he asked for.”

Before I could go on, my wise co-worker stopped me and said, “I did not ask you if you included all the information.  I did not even ask you if you practiced it.  What I meant was, is the information your presenting everything he wants it to be?  Will he be pleased by the information?”

I understood what he was asking.  No, he was not going to be happy about all of the information.  Suddenly it hit me that, no matter how much I dressed it up and made it look good, I could not get away from the fact that the information is not good.   My focus was on the presentation and not focused on how the information was going to be received.  As I sat at my desk trying to place myself in the seat of the person receiving the information, I came to the conclusion that I needed to review the information more and stop working on just the presentation part.  I needed to know the information inside and out.  I needed to be able to answer the hard  questions of where we are going in our business and what we need need to do immediately to ensure our company remains solvent.   Information about bad business conditions no matter how it is wrapped up in a professional media presentation is still “bad”.

That night after working late to get myself prepared for the “information” part of my presentation.  I started my drive home.  I flipped on the radio like always.  At first, I thought there might be something wrong with the radio because nothing was playing.

Then this song came on…

As I listened to Chris Sligh sing this song, I had to pull the car over to the side of the road.

Could I ask God these questions?

Are You pleased with me?  Am I everything You want me to be?

Sitting in my car, I tried to rationalize it by saying, “Well, I try to please You.”  Then the lyrics of this song cut through to my heart like a knife…

Can you see through all these filthy rags
That I like to call my good
And see the mirror of my heart reflecting you
I know you listen to me, but what do you hear
Am I lovely to your ear?
All I want is to hear you say “well done”
Are you pleased with me?
Am I everything you want for me to be?
Are you pleased?
I know that I am nothing
Outside of who you are
And it’s you I should be striving to become
I know you’re watching over me, but what do
you see?
Am I moving towards the grace that covers me?

Are you pleased with me?
Am I everything you want for me to be?
Am I drawing closer to you?
Is my heart deciding you are all I need?
Are you pleased?
Oh, I know I could never do enough on my own
But still you see me through the precious blood
Oh, it’s only the blood of Jesus…
All I want is to hear you say “well done”

For the first time in a very long time, I realized that God never wanted me to “try” to be like Him. He wants me to “be” more like Him.

How often do we hear, or are exhorted to “TRY to be more like Jesus”? –but  I am learning that’s not what the Christian faith is about at all.   Its not all about us “trying” harder.   I try, and most of the time I fail  – just like I might sit down at the keyboard and try to play it, and if I haven’t trained to play it, I will also fail miserably.  There is an immense difference between training to do something, and trying to do something, and this principle especially applies to our spiritual walk.

Unless I have developed some of the skills and abilities in life which Jesus had, then try as hard as I may, I will still not be able to live like Him or respond to life’s challenges as He did!

This is what the apostle Paul means when he encourages his young protégé  Timothy to “train yourself in godliness.”- He didn’t say “try to be godly”!   Paul uses the familiar imagery of training for athletics when he writes to the Christians in Phillipi when he says how he is “striving to win the prize” – and how he is running straight towards the goal  in order to win the prize.  Inherent in this imagery is the strong understanding of the necessity for training.

So spiritual transformation is not a matter trying harder, but of training  wisely.

It’s a time to get serious about my spiritual training.

I also realized that I was no different than the presentation I was working on all day at work.  For years I have worked on the outside…the presentation part and avoided the reality of my heart.

The reality of trying to make the message of this song real in my life is daunting. There is a lot of baggage that surrounds my heart.  It is time for me to “let go” and forgive as I have been forgiven.  Time to make things right between a few folks in my life that I have been harboring bitterness towards.  I am challenged to come to peace about my failures in my Spiritual walk.  I need to be used of God again.

So, what about you?  Is God Pleased? Are You Everything He Wants You to Be?

I am the last person to place judgment on anyone.   It is more of a question to be answered in your heart, because the truth be known…not very many people would be able to answer “yes” to the question.

So to answer my own question….No…I am not everything God wants me to be.

But for the first time in a long time…from the depths of my heart…I want to be again.

But then again…maybe it’s just me.

Anyone else want to add their perspective?

4 thoughts on “Is God Pleased? Are You Everything He Wants You to Be?

  1. A challenge I needed to hear. It’s not easy to look inside and ask the difficult questions, harder yet to answer them honestly. Thankfully we have a Savior who wants our ugliness to turn it into something good for him.

  2. it brought tears to my eyes. I can really relate to you on your whole story, i think all to often we fail to focus on the reality in life…like our hearts. Thank you for this, when i stand at his throne for judgement i want him to be pleased with me…I don’t want to break his heart.

  3. It’s encouraging to know I’m not the only one wrestling with this question. I praise God that your desire is to please Him; I’m there with you! But, as I search the Scripture for the answer to whether God is pleased with me, and whether I could please Him more, the answer is…yes. Yes, he is already pleased with me, and yes, I can continue to submit to and rest in Him.

    I thought about what God said to Satan about Job in Job 1:8: God said there was none like him who feared God and was blameless and upright. Did God put His omniscience aside for a moment and not know that He would be correcting Job 37 chapters later? Of course not- God knew what Job was through and through, yet He said He was a blameless and upright man.

    Wow! Obviously God was pleased with Job in spite of his sins. And God must be pleased with us as well…in spite of our sin. I’m on a trek to search for more affirmation that God is indeed pleased. I think it’s not about trying to please Him, but trusting Him, resting in Him, and, more than anything, ENJOYING Him. I like what John Piper (www.desiringgod.org) says: God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him. Piper also suggests that the Westminster Catechism’s first statement be revised to say “the purpose of man is to glorify God BY enjoying Him forever.” (replace ‘and’ with ‘by’).

    Anyway,, that’s what I’m learning so far. Thanks for the post and the song. I’m gonna be listening to it a few times.

  4. Tim…thanks for the comments. I don’t normally approve too many comments, however, your points are excellent and add to this post. I have checked out your website and you are indeed a wonderful and gifted artist and I will stop back by and visit to see more of your work. Thanks again and may both of our lives glorify God by enjoying Him forever.

    David

Leave a Reply

