I’m Learning… that I Can Change and So Can You.

Maybe it’s just me…but as  I close in on the anniversary of writing this blog, I am reminded of the fact that this little project has taught me much more than I have shared to those of you that have been gracious and patient enough to read my ramblings.

It is a good thing that I love to write.  Because once upon a time, I loved to teach.   I still love to teach but I am not able to teach like I would like to anymore and I have not been able to express myself that way.  So,  I have these outlets, like this blog as a way to accomplish my desire to express my thoughts and perspective.  It is really the only way of expression that I can really do.  With that in mind, it is evident to me that I have not posted to this blog as much as I have written.  I have written hundreds of postings and stories that are part of my private blog.  For those of you that do not know, I have a private blog and those writings will be shared with my family and close friends some where along the line after the Lord calls me home.

However, I have shared with you some stories and some of my political views just as a way of expression.   It has been fun and I will continue to post them on this site until people quit reading them.  My goal is to have 15,000 hits before my one year anniversary on September 3rd.  I am currently at 14, 322…so I still have an outside shot.  There is no loss in not making that goal, because at the end of the day, this is just a fun project that keeps me busy.

More importantly, this project has taught me a lot.  Try sitting down and disciplining yourself to write everyday about things that make up who you are.  Stories from the past that shaped you.  Try to write about the things that bother you and try to put into words solutions for those that read your ramblings. Tell a story about someone that has inspired you or try to coherently share your perspective.   Sounds easy…but it has been difficult to do.  I have been through a time period when I simply could not put a word down on paper.  Writer’s block is real and I have experienced it firsthand.   Nothing is as frustrating as when you have to come up with something to write about and your mind is a blank.

So today, as I sat down to write in my private blog, I realized that I have learned so much over the past year about myself.  Having to express myself (via the pen) has made me face some of my biggest personal weaknesses.  It also has taught me some valuable lessons that I thought I already knew but never really had to practice them in my life.  It has been one of the best things that I have ever been a part of.

With that in mind, I am going to list (not in any particular order and certainly not a complete listing) things that I am learning in my life.  These statements that I post are things that I am learning.  They have changed me or at least, made me a better person today than I was a year ago.  I plan on taking each one of these points and write separate postings for each one.  If you will, like a chapter in a book for each one.

For the record, these will also be posted in my personal blog as notes to pass on to my children and grandchildren.

Here is what I am learning…

  • That I can do something in a instant that will bring me heartache for life.
  • I can learn from a bad experience.  It can actually result in “good” things.  It is up to me to determine how I am going to deal with the bad experience.
  • To not take myself so seriously.  In life, on the job and in a marriage,  a good sense of humor is money in the bank.
  • Try to slow down more and enjoy the trip that life brings.
  • My bitterness never accomplished anything.  Even though I was really good at it.
  • I need to be the best “forgiver” I know.
  • Good intentions never excuse offense.
  • Forgiveness accomplishes all of it’s goals.  It never fails.  I just know I’m not very good at it.
  • Trust is something that takes a lifetime to build and mere seconds to destroy.
  • Say words of love to those in your life.  I have learned that it may be the last time I see them and get the chance to say them.
  • I shouldn’t burn bridges or jump off the cliff.  Things change and I should learn not to react.
  • I wish I was the man I am today…25 years ago.
  • That I don’t fail when I lose…I fail when I quit.
  • How much Money I make is the worst way to keep score in life.
  • Success is measured by my relationships, not cars, homes or bank accounts.
  • That having money is not nearly as much fun as I thought it would be when I didn’t have any.
  • Money buys less than what I thought.
  • I cannot make anyone love me…forgive me or accept me.  God does this unconditionally.
  • Degrees, credentials and awards mean far less than I thought they would.
  • Regret is the only emotion I cannot do anything about.
  • That tears are nothing I need to be ashamed of.
  • God is all about second chances…people are not.
  • It happened to me…it can happen to you.  There are no guarantees, except forgiveness and salvation through Jesus Christ.
  • It was easy to have friends when I did what they they wanted me to do.
  • My true friends are those that stood next to me when I failed.  So look around after the failure… most of the time it is just your family left to help you pick up the pieces.
  • I need to keep my promises.
  • Christian talk is cheap.  It is easy to do right and live for the Lord in other peoples eyes when all they have to evaluate me are my words.  Actions speak louder than words.
  • Never be afraid to say I am sorry.
  • No Legacy is as rich as a Legacy of Honesty.

So in the end… I have changed and I think you can change too.

But then again, maybe it’s just me.

Leave a Reply

