If Everyday was a Good Day

Maybe it’s just me…but I don’t want everyday to be a good day.

If everyday was a good day… I would grow lazy in my faith.  I would not appreciate the things that God does for me on a daily basis.  I would stop praying as much and stop growing in God’s Word.  I would have less appreciation for the grace of God.

So I don’t wish for everyday to be a good day.  I want every day to be what God allows me to have.  The good and the bad.  There are lessons learned through them all.  I have grown most in the Lord when I had my very worst days.  I don’t want to stop having bad days….it sharpens me in the trial and keeps me close  to the Lord.

Today is a good day… and in it I want to express my love for wife and for my family.  And while I have a good day, I want to express my gratitude to my God and to my Savior Jesus Christ.

I sit here this morning,  with my heart overflowing.  Tears are in abundance (but what else is new, right?) I have no idea how to express in words the gratitude my heart feels at this moment.  My God has been so good to me.   He has loved me unconditionally.   He has loved me with tenderness and sweetness.  He has loved me like no one else ever could or will.   He has been my rock.   My strength.   My hope.   He has sustained me when the road was hard and assures me that He will be with me as I face hard times in the future.   He has been my faithful friend.   He has guided me through this life.   He has truly been my Shepherd.   Always by my side.  Never failing me, even when I failed Him.  He has never abandoned me like friends have…Ever.  When I had nothing to offer Him …and lost any honor this life could give…He was with me.

Thank you, God.  Thank you for your love.  Thank you for saving me when I wasn’t looking to be saved.  Thank you for intervening.  Thank you for lifting me out of the muck and mire  that I created in my life.  Thank you for putting my feet back on solid ground.  Thank you for the years I spent in trial and failure, for without them, I may have never known the relationship I have with you today. Thank you for sustaining me over these years of hard times. Thank you for giving me life.  I offer it back to you to use for your glory.  I am ready to be used as you see fit.

I waited patiently for the LORD;
he turned to me and heard my cry.

He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
and gave me a firm place to stand.

He put a new song in my mouth,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear
and put their trust in the LORD.

Psalm 40-1-3

No…I don’t want every day to be a good day.   I want to endure the bad days and the hard times so that I can grow closer to Him.  But then again…maybe it’s just me.

Leave a Reply

