A Few of My Favorite Things…

This past week I had to have surgery.  I was hopeful that the surgeon would be able to care of the problem and I would be done with it.  However,  it was discovered that I will need to have more surgery in a few weeks.   Unfortunately, this upcoming surgery is much more serious than I  would care for it to be.

So, while I am waiting to recover from this surgery and start the preparation for the next one,  I have come to realize that I am extremely thankful for many things in my life.  So here are a few of my favorite things to be thankful for…

being_thankful_card

I am thankful for my lovely wife Pam,  who always believes in me and allows me to be me.  She is wonderful, beautiful and my best friend.
I am thankful for my children, Crystal, Nathan, Adam and Cassidy.  They love me unreservedly and lavishly and they bring me more joy than I could ever express.
I am thankful for Clay, my son-in-law.  Not just because he loves my daughter and treats her well but because he is my friend and he loves the Lord with his whole heart.
I am thankful for family and friends that have stuck by me when others walked away.
I am thankful for God’s grace.  I am a really, really, really big fan of it!!!
I am thankful for the Salvation I found in Jesus Christ.  I am thankful that He never gives up on me, even when I fail.

I am thankful that I have a whole new day stretched ahead of me with its new opportunities and blessings, with my family and my friends and my God.  I am thankful that I am forgiven and clean and that God stretched his love out towards me and rescued me from sin and separation from Him and brought me into His family.

I am thankful for my church and a Pastor who pursues God and His ways.  He always presents God’s message with love and encouragement.

I am thankful that I have a Bible – that I can read the promises of God and discover who He is and His great love for me.

I am thankful for music and worship that draws our heart towards God.  I am also thankful when I get to see people come to know Christ – there is nothing like it in the world.

And finally, in no particular order, here are a few more of my favorite things  to be thankful for…

  • I am thankful for a morning cup of coffee.
  • Dark Chocolate –  MMMMmmm chocolate.
  • Reeda and Eilford Case  (hands down…the best in-laws EVER)
  • Fall – the best season.   (the best weather,  colors and the smells of the year)
  • Air Conditioning
  • The Music of the Beatles.
  • Cleveland Browns / Cleveland Indians  (even though they frustrate me too death)
  • Remote Controls
  • Listening to Cassidy sing
  • A comfortable Chair
  • The Tom Hank’s  movie “That Thing You Do” (never get tired of watching it)
  • A glass of Cold Milk
  • My MDR-NC7 Sony Headphones
  • When my kids call just to say Hello.
  • A good  Pillow
  • The ability to turn right on red
  • Christmas Morning
  • My 1976 Ford Pinto  (if that car could talk)
  • Eisley and Rooney (My granddogs)
  • High Speed Internet Access
  • Indoor Plumbing
  • The State Highway Patrol Officer that showed me a little  grace one day
  • My Ipod   (8,321 songs on it and still growing)
  • Caller ID
  • Motown Music (The Temptations, Marvin Gaye, etc.)
  • The arrows that show you which way to insert the batteries
  • Ronald Reagan
  • A clean blank sheet of paper
  • For parents who told me “NO” sometimes
  • Re-runs of Tommy Boy on TBS
  • The Whopper from Burger King
  • The acting ability of Tom Hanks.
  • A good Steak
  • Bob Emrich
  • Blogging and Writing
  • The delete button on the keyboard and white out for paper.
  • Childhood Memories
  • Pastor Holman from my FBT days
  • Ohio State Football
  • Golf
  • The number 22

So there you have it… a short list of a few of my favorite things I am thankful for.  The actual list is much longer,  maybe I will share more later.    What are you thankful for today?

2 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things…

Leave a Reply

