I Think God is Trying to Tell Me Something…

Maybe it’s just me…but when I read the Bible, sometimes I think God is trying to tell me something.

Duh…really?  I know that sounds stupid.  However, I have come to the realization that many times when I read the Bible, I make applications to other people.  Meaning… I see the truth of what is communicated and apply it to other people and not as often to myself.  It’s like I read it and say “How does this apply to __________?” as opposed to “How does it apply to me?”.

One area that I struggle with application is  how many times God “name drops”.  Many times in the Bible, God introduces himself to his servants in the Old Testament, he goes into name dropping three ancient people- Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.

For example, in Exodus 3: 6, God told Moses, “I am the God of your father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob.

The questions that popped in my head are “Why? Why them? What’s with them? And why don’t we read of Him saying He is the God of Moses, Joshua and Samson?”  More importantly…how does this apply to ME?

Well, as usual, a few thoughts come to mind:

1. When God looks at us, He sees our families. God intended for families to be the natural channel of his blessings. It was not by accident that Jesus was born in the lineage of David.  God carefully chose that bloodline, that family for the Messiah.   God the Father willed it, ordained it, planned it and made it happen.

When the Philippian jailer asked about the way of salvation, Paul and Silas gave the classic answer that we often use to new believers today: “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved– you and your household.” Acts 16:31. Here you see the obvious- the natural flow of the gospel trickles down through the blood ties of the family unit.

2.  An implicit promise is suggested in the way Abraham, Isaac and Jacob are mentioned. Notice that they comprise three generations of the same family, not some random guys from all over the place. It is as if God was saying: “I, the God of your father, is the same God who will take care of you, your children and the succeeding generations.” Now that is one promise every mother and father would want for their children.

I believe that the passing of your faith to your children is the best legacy you could ever make before you die. This is the only way you can be sure that your family line will endure with honor and grace.  Imagine it this way: Read Exodus 3:6 again and replace the patriarchs’ names with your father’s name, your name, and your son’s name. See how powerful and real this promise can be!

3. God’s Resume. Whenever you see Abraham, Isaac and Jacob lumped together in one sentence, remember that God is, in effect, making a statement. He is pointing you to His resume.  His track record of promises made and promises fulfilled here on earth.   Not one of those promises faltered for a thousand generations and that, I believe, is quite a resume to be reckoned with.  It’s like God is saying, “ David, I am the God of those three  guys in the past.  I have an unbroken record of faithfulness for thousands of years.   Yet you still want to question Me? “.

Yeah…I think God is trying to tell me something…but then again maybe it’s just me.

What do you think?



One thought on “I Think God is Trying to Tell Me Something…

  1. interesting…I think thatGod speaks to us in ways we dont always see,or in ways we choose not to see,why??? Its easier for us,we might notlike whathehas to say

Leave a Reply

