It’s Not About Having What You Want. It’s About Wanting What You Have.

Maybe it’s just me…but I don’t keep New Year’s Resolutions.

I used to try, but not anymore.  It always seemed like I was setting myself up for failure.  I would always say, “I’m going to lose  50 lbs” or  “I am going to work out at the gym very day”.   These typically lasted about a day or two at best.  The resolutions that really got me are the one’s I made like these…  ”I’m going to faithfully write every day and keep my blog updated” or  “I am going to call or write letters to my friends and stay in contact with them this year”.   These lasted a little longer…two weeks, a month at most.  They all still ended in failure.

I will not even mention the resolutions I made and promised to God.  In the past, I made resolutions about how I was going to live my life in a certain way for the new year.  I was always going to pray more and read my Bible more.  I won’t mention these resolutions because I am embarrassed that most of these resolutions and promises I could not even keep a few hours let alone a full year.

My grandfather used to tell me, “David, everyone has a specific skill.  One thing that sets them apart from everyone else.  One thing that they are really good at.  You just have to find what that one thing is.”

I think I found it.

I have come to the conclusion that I am a Professional Resolution Breaker (PRB).

At the beginning of 2009, I made a resolution of “making no resolutions”.  I failed even at that.  What seemed to be the most simple resolution for 2009 ended in failure.

I  failed at not making a resolution, meaning I promised myself that I would not make a resolution.  But in the end,  I  ended up making some promise or commitment.  I have failed so many times that I am a professional at it.  I mean I am really, really good at failing at them.

So what does a Professional Resolution Failure (PRB) do to change in 2010?  My experience has shown me that not all is lost and there is one thing I can do that may keep me from being a complete failure in 2010.  I am going to make one more resolution that will last me for the rest of my life.

I resolve to break every future New Year’s resolution I will ever make in my life.

There…that should do it.  I think I may have found the answer for all my resolution failures.  I want to be the best New Year’s resolution breaker ever.  The sweet taste of success is just around the corner.

Obviously, I am joking.

The truth is that I am making a resolution for the New Year.  Well, not a resolution exactly, maybe I should call it a “return” for the new year.  I want to return to God an attitude of grace, humility and thanksgiving for all that He has given and will give in 2010.

I want to live 2010 in the following ways and with two thoughts in mind…

To want what I have been given.

Hebrews 13:5 implores us to be “content with what you have”.  God has given me a lot and I need to appreciate where I am at and what I have right now.  So many times people want what others have.  I want to be content with what I have.

One of my favorite quotations is:

It’s not about having what you want…
It’s about wanting what you have.

Secondly,  I want…

To take what I’m given in 2010 with grace.

I have no idea what 2010 will bring.  If I really knew what 2009 would deliver I would have not wanted to go through it.  However, we all know that that is not reasonable.  God allows us to go through hard times as well as good.  I want to take and accept that which God sends my way with grace in 2010.  In light of some things going in my life, that is a scary prospect.  But it is my prayer for the year.  That no matter what is sent my way I will deal with it and accept it with grace and with the understanding that God is in control.

Pretty profound when you think about it.

To want what I have.  To look around me and know that what I have is enough – I have my faith and a personal relationship with Jesus Christ; I have the love of a good woman;  I have four children who bring joy to my life (most of the time);  I have friends and family who will stand by my side in times of trouble;  I have a roof over my head, food on the table and clothes to wear.

To take what I’m given with grace. With grace… I want to accept what God puts in my way with a sense of humility and grace.  I do not want to go through 2010 with a sense of entitlement or resentment because of the things that are happening in my life that may or may not be good.  I want to accept them with humility and thanksgiving.

For these things I pray.  It is the heart of the matter.  To be “content” as to where and what God has put in my path.

Return to the Lord your God, for He is gracious and compassionate…abounding in lovingkindness. Joel 2:13

So I’m not resolving,  I’m returning…

But then again…maybe it’s just me.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not About Having What You Want. It’s About Wanting What You Have.

  1. Excellent thoughts David! I will take it and work it into a sermon! Here is some more…

    To share with others what I have received.

    To give God all the glory!

Leave a Reply

