Being a Christian Easy? Whoever Said That?

Maybe it’s just me…but Whoever said being a Christian would be easy? It wasn’t me nor was it Jesus.

In Luke 12:51, Jesus said: “Do you think that I have come to bring peace to the earth? No, I tell you, but rather division. From now on five in one households will be divided, three against two and two against three; they will be divided: father against son and son against father, mother against daughter and daughter against mother, mother-in-law against her daughter-in-law.”

It might be hard for us to grasp the true meaning of that verse until we have actually lived it out in our own lives. Serving the Lord isn’t always easy, and it often divides us from the very people we love—our family and friends. I know that even within our families that are “serving” the Lord there can be strife and division. I hope you will find some comfort, healing, encouragement, and support in knowing that you are not alone. Jesus promised us that he would always be there for us. However, He does want us to make sure we settle our differences.

For some of us, the pieces of our broken heart are held by a parent, for some it is a child, or a friend, or a sibling, or a spouse. The one thing we all have in common is those broken pieces of our inner being, our hearts. Now is the time to seek out the answers to how Jesus can help us put our hearts back together. If you are not speaking to a brother or a sister, NOW is the time to make amends. It has been my experience that “regret” is the only emotion we can do nothing about. You never can make it go away. It will always be there. No matter how hard we try we can never make right the wrong after someone passes away. This past year I lost two of my closest friends. With one of them, I had to sit down and allow myself to forgive them for something I was upset about. They had said some things that made me upset. I am so thankful that I offered forgiveness, because just a few months later…they were gone. I am thankful that I said what I needed to be said. I made sure that I had “no regrets’ in any of my dealings with them. I would not have wanted to live the rest of my life knowing that I harbored bad feelings for them and I would have to wait until I met them in heaven to make things right.

Though your friendship may never be the same again,  it may not be what it was or what it could have been, BUT we can be whole and happy again. We must trust in the Lord to provide the right kind of “heart glue” – after all, he was a carpenter.

As Christians, it is our responsibility and ultimate duty to be there for others who need help on their walk with Christ. In the pain, sorrow, disbelief, depression, and deep sadness of our life situation, we can find spiritual strength that we never knew we had. Because of the pain, we must search for a deeper well to draw our strength from—our faith in Jesus Christ is the answer. He is the living well flowing with cool, fresh, healing water. Join me at the well and on this journey of healing and restoration where we may find comfort for our souls.

Is there someone you need to call today? Someone that the wrong needs to be made right. Please consider reconciliation EVEN if you are not at fault. Life is too short to pick up that baggage every morning. Do not let your pride get in the way.

Call them today.

You will be glad you did…but then again, maybe that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

