Are You Sure You Want to Wear That?

There was an unfortunate fashion incident.  At school.

I was involved.  Memos flew and phones rang.

If I told you the details, I’d have to silence you.   Or move to Minsk.

So the details of my unfortunate story will remain untold, at least until I feel I can post it and still keep my dignity.

That being said, for whatever reason — cultural, spiritual, X-chromosome deficiency — I am a clumsy dresser.  When my wife stands in the closet, she is planning, inventing, dreaming.   When I stand there,  I am wondering what time the game starts and what I am going to eat for lunch.    So I keep things simple — three or four outfits max.   Wear them over and over and over….

A few months ago, I needed to buy a new suit.  I had not worn a suit in 16 years.   I was in need a new one.   So I set out on my journey to find me something nice, something classy.    As I walked the isle of  Value City’s Big and Tall Men’s Department, I was trying to find that perfect suit that would be just that…classy.

That is when Bob, the 20 hours per week, minimum wage earning, white socks with penny loafer wearing attendant in the men’s department came up to me and said,  “You know ‘they’ say…How you dress tells everyone how to treat you. Your clothes say quite a bit.”

I was afraid to ask what he meant.

“They” say that fashion takes only common sense, but that begs a question: Who the heck are “they,” and why are “they” making my life miserable?  Is there a round table where “they” decide what is in style?  It is like the bad experience from my high school days when the Cool Committee decided what was and what wasn’t cool.

And there’s the rub:  white sock, penny loafer Bob was right…the  clothes you wear do say a lot about you.  I was afraid of what my clothes were saying about me…

When I returned home, I couldn’t look my clothing in the eye. The shirts seemed to slouch on their hangers.  Sliding through the hodgepodge, I realized that my only hope was a closet fire.

If it is true that what you wear says a lot about a person then I wonder what Paul the Apostle meant when he wrote in Colossians 3: 12-14, 

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.”

I believe that Paul  is sharing that it is also important to wear the wardrobe that God has for us.  He uses the analogy of clothing because our behavior is something that people see about us.

Just like a bad suit, we look bad in negative behavior.

Instead, Paul admonishes us to clothe ourselves in love.

He then says to accessorize this love with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, patience and forgiveness.

What an ensemble.

Can you imagine if we were intentional in putting on this behavior everyday?   What a difference it would make in our life and the lives of those around us.

Today, decide what you want to wear.   It is your choice.

God has custom made an outfit just for you. The clothes fit perfectly and bring out your true self.   Go ahead, find a quiet changing room and go change.

Clothe yourself today with love, compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, patience and forgiveness.

These things are what I want to wear today…

and that it is…  “just me”.

 

Leave a Reply

