She’d Like Mornings Better if They Started Later

I am a morning person.

My wife isn’t.

The only way she would like mornings is if they started later.

But for me, I love the morning.  The world is so peaceful and it’s great to have that time to get ready for the day. I always get out the right side of bed.  I’m always cheerful and bubbly first thing. Most days I am up after only 4 or 5 hours of sleep.

I just like the feeling of being awake while everyone else is asleep. There’s a calming kind of privacy to it. I have plenty of time to mosey around.  I hate feeling rushed.  Why does the world have to move so fast?   When I have all that time in the morning I find myself doing the tasks that I generally procrastinate doing.

Even now, as I sit here in the dark, with no light but that from my computer screen, it’s so serene.

Sitting here, it feels like this is how it’s supposed to be.  It’s just right.

It’s also when I get my best work done.  It’s when I’m most focused.   My brain just kind of shuts down after dinner.  I’d much rather write in a morning setting, than late at night.

But recently I have run into some problems in the morning.  Over the past few months,  God has been opening my eyes to some areas of my life that are in need of some attention.  In particular, is the time that I spend in prayer and Bible study.   This has meant reestablishing a priority of glorifying God and reinstating the principle of rising early to spend time with Him.    Rather than watching the news or reading the paper in the morning, I have been challenged to use that time more wisely for a quiet time with God.  I figured that since I am a morning person this should not be a problem.

WOW…  was I wrong.  Ever since I made the commitment to have my devotions in the morning it seems like I am soooo tired and can’t get out of bed.  I, now,  have a million and one excuses to keep me in bed in the morning.  “My schedule keeps me up late.”, “I need my energy to accomplish all I need to do.”, “I’ll be too tired to get anything out of my quiet time.” I’ve been using these excuses (and more) off and on over the past few weeks.  The snooze button on the alarm gets more use than ever before.  The bottom line is that it has been a struggle, but I know it is just a distraction to try to keep me from growing in the Lord.

It has not been easy, but I haven’t regretted the truly quiet time I’ve spent with God in these early mornings.   I may not always be wide awake.    I may need to continually ask the Lord to make me alert.   I might even have to turn on more lights and drink some coffee.   But, in spite of my sleepy eyes, this discipline is bearing fruit.   God is showing His hand in answered prayer, and is growing my heart through His Word.

Now, let me be clear about one thing.   Getting up early is not magical. There’s no godly pixie dust that’s sprinkled on me for reading the Bible.   Having my morning quiet time will not make God like me more.   God doesn’t give brownie points for it.

  • NOTHING I do (or don’t do) will make God love me more than He already does.
  • NOTHING I do (or don’t do) will make God love me less.
  • Jesus already did all of the work required for my salvation.
  • My “sin” debt is paid.   My punishment is forgiven.   Period.

But, rising early to spend time with my savior will bring many blessings.    Not because of what I do, but because of what Christ already did for me.   Being reminded of this changes my outlook for the entire day.   I’m much more likely to react appropriately at work when problems arise during the day, if I’ve already been in prayer that morning.   And I’m much more aware of God’s work in my life and in the lives of those around me.   I notice when He answers my prayers.   More importantly, I am more humbly conscious of His grace.

So regardless of how “tired” I will feel in the morning….I’ll set the alarm.

Everything else will fall into place.

“My voice You shall hear in the morning, O Lord; In the morning I will direct it to You, And I will look up.” (Psalm 5:3)

Leave a Reply

