A Good “Mood” Kicking Required

I’ve mentioned it before, I am a morning person.  It is usually the time of day that I am most at peace and happiest.  It usually takes a few hours into the day until my mood takes a drastic turn for the worst.

But today was different. I woke up this morning in bad way from the start.  I got up looked out the window and realized that my tee time…errrr  “business meeting” at 11:00 was going to be canceled due to a thunderstorm moving in.  I was not a happy camper.

Now I know…there will be other days to golf.  No big deal.  Usually by this time of year, I have golfed enough to feed my fix.  But this year I have not touched a club.  As a matter of fact, I haven’t even taken my clubs up from the basement.  I was looking forward to the day because I have been so busy at work that I just wanted some time to put my mind in neutral and just play a round of golf.  It wasn’t going to happen.

Sure enough…and I am sure you can guess what happened next.  As soon as my wife and daughter  get up, I start ranting and raving about whatever I can find to complain about.  Taking my “mood” out on them, just because I am frustrated about “my selfish desire to play golf today”.  Not good.

So I close the door to my office and I just sit at my desk staring at the blank sheet of paper that is in front of me.  All I want to write about is how ticked off I am about the rain.  How “nothing” ever works out as planned.  I just wanted to write down what a crappy “mood” I am in.

Then I jump on my computer and find a blog called “Lynn Dove’s Journey Thoughts” It was what I needed today.  I will post a little of what she posted:

This morning during my quiet time I was reading from Oswald Chambers “My Utmost For His Highest” and I couldn’t help but laugh (and squirm) at these profound words:

“There are certain things we must not pray about – moods, for instance. Moods never go by praying, moods go by kicking.”          – Oswald Chambers

He goes on to say that:

“A mood nearly always has its seat in the physical condition, not in the moral.  It is a continual effort not to listen to the moods which arise from a physical condition; never submit to them for a second.”

You know, when he’s right he’s right!

She continues:

“I have also spent, what Oswald would say, “a considerable amount of wasteful time feeling a little sorry for myself and praying about…yeah, you guessed it…my mood”. I suppose it is part of the human condition when things don’t go exactly according to plan, that you get a little down.”

Oswald Chambers says,

“We have to take ourselves by the scruff of the neck and shake ourselves, and we will find that we can do what we said we could not.”

I needed a good “mood” kicking this morning.  Thanks Oswald!

That doesn’t sound a bit like my idea of trying to run away, or wasting time being upset because I couldn’t golf today.  On the contrary, it’s more like a kick in the pants.

Yes…thank you Oswald and Lynn for the thoughtful and most needed words…

And the  golf clubs may just stay in the basement for a few more weeks.

One thought on “A Good “Mood” Kicking Required

Leave a Reply

