Are You Thirsty?

As some of you know, I had some medical issues in 2009 that really took its toll in my life.  I still live with the side effects of the surgeries that I had and even though I don’t talk about them much they are still there as reminders of a time when I first realized I was not invincible.   I have lost complete hearing in my left ear and I still have numbness all through my right arm and I have no feeling in the tip of my fingers on my right hand.  Another side effect has been that everything tastes different than it did before my surgeries.  However the worst side effect that I have had to deal with is that I have constant cotton mouth.   My mouth is constantly dry and I have to always have something to drink in hand or have a piece of candy or gum to make sure my mouth doesn’t completely dry out.  In light of the seriousness of my surgeries, I will take these side effects over the alternative that was given to me.  

Have you ever been thirsty?  I mean really thirsty…your mouth dry, lips parched, your tongue clinging to the roof of your mouth.     Have you have ever been so thirsty  that you long for just a sip of water?   Thirsty….it’s how we describe a need for something that is vital to life.   We cannot live without water.   If we went without it for even a few days our health would diminish quickly.   We must have water to live. 

In the Bible, David wrote of another kind of thirst.   He wrote in this Psalm of a thirst for God.  

“As the deer longs for streams of water, so I long for you, O God.  I thirst for God, the living God.”      Psalm 42: 1-2

David has the craving for a close  relationship with his God, to have a presence that could only be equated to a thirsty deer in the wilderness looking for water.   We all have this thirst, this need for God.  The sad truth is that most people don’t realize it as need for God in their life.  Many try to quench their thirst for satisfaction with other things.  It may be material things or maybe they try to find it through the bottle or drugs.  

Like water to the body, God is the only thing that will really meet our thirst’s need.   Around me I watch a world looking for relief from their thirst in other ways, but the only one, the only water for the soul is God Himself.   Those who look for relief from other sources will never quench their thirst, they simply satisfy their thirst for a moment with things that don’t last.  

I feel that thirst in my life.   I want to know God and have Him be the focal point in my life.  I want to satisfy my thirsty soul with His presence.   It’s His face I need to seek, it’s His presence in my life that will quench my thirsty soul.

Like David, I thirst for God.  My hope is that is your prayer as well. 

The question is… are you thirsty?

One thought on “Are You Thirsty?

  1. You are really an insperation! I read about Teagradens pool and just kept reading. I will certainly continue to follow your blog. God Bless and thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

