Wanderings

Like many other people,  my life has been an odyssey of unknown destinations.

“I never dreamed I would….”

“I am so glad I….”

“I didn’t plan to….”

“I wish I wouldn’t have….”

Life is a series of surprises we never planned for. 

As I reflect on mine, I see a wandering odyssey mostly taken without a plan, purpose or destination. Planning for this, but doing that.   Hoping to be here, but ending up there.  

How can we know the course of our lives, how can we plan our lives when we have no idea what will unfold tomorrow or even this evening?

Life is lived with moments to experience.   Right now I can choose this, do that, go here and from that moment other moments happen.   Where will we end up? How will it all unfold?  Will I be successful, happy, fulfilled, rewarded, content?   Honestly, only God knows.

As I look back I have made decisions that have made me extremely happy.  Things could not have worked out better if I had written the ending results myself.  To be honest,  there have been some decisions that have ended in a series of regrets.   And yet, in the regrets of my choices I see the amazing grace of God working on my behalf.   There are choices to make, that’s clear, but the results of those choices are not always clear to us in the moment. All we can see right now is the moment. For me this all comes down to a simple idea that I think describes my own odyssey of wandering.

“Man’s goings are of the LORD; how can a man then understand his own way?”                                                                                                                                                                                 Proverbs 20:24

So, as we each wander through the twists and turns of life and choices, know that God is directing our destinations.  We won’t figure it all out.  We need to simply trust Him to get us where He wants us to be.

This is a great comfort to me… because as I wander… God has wonderful things for me to learn in this thing called life.

One thought on “Wanderings

  1. Wow David, awesome! Simply comforting to me today! Thanks for continuing to write, it is a blessing to me and soooo many others!

Leave a Reply

