My Hope is Built on Nothing Less

I am so thankful that this political season is coming to a close.  I am so tired of all the commercials and all of the hype and all of the lies.  It almost makes me not want to vote. 

But I know better.

I’d really love to not care nor talk about politics and focus on what’s really important, like my grandson and how I love the latest  picture of him with food smeared all over his face or a long-winded complaint about the Cleveland Browns or my work schedule for the week. 

I would love to talk about these things…but I can’t.

Because most things in our life are based upon politics.  Politics affect the safety of the food that I bought and is pureed for my grandson.  Politics affect how much time I get to take off work. Politicians decide which roads will be repaired, how much to pay the traffic police to clear up accidents and what kinds of cars are safe for driving in.   Politicians have control over the air quality that I breath and they have control over the resources available to rescue workers if I get in an accident.

To pretend that politics has no role in our lives is to be blind.  Democracies work because everybody gets to have a say in the direction of their country and that direction shapes every aspect of our lives. The person I am today would be very different if I had grown up under different leadership in our country.  There is no me without politics.  There is no social media without politics, because there is no social fabric.

To think we can act like we don’t care who wins this election is to fool yourself.

Not caring seems cool in high school, but twenty years from now, many of you (who didn’t vote) people are working 60 hours a week just to make ends meet may make you re-think your perspective. 

Being vocal about not caring about politics and not voting might garner you some “yeah! I’m so sick of it too!” comments, but politics matter

What kind of a country do you want to live in?  What kind of regulations do you want, what kind of services do you want, what kind of economics do you want, what kind of – everything – do you want?

Being above politics and not voting means that in twenty years, your world will have passed you by and you have nobody to blame but yourself.

So take the responsibility and vote.

Now don’t get me wrong… I do not hang all of my hopes and dreams on who is elected.  Far from it… I am confident of this very thing… That my hope is built upon nothing less than Jesus’ blood and His righteousness.

I am reminded of these words:

“Jesus Christ, is the same yesterday, and today and forever.” Hebrews 13:8

I love how the Word of God can bring such encouragement and clarity right when we need it.

In 10 words, my heart was gripped with the fact that we serve and worship a God that does not change.

I cannot put my trust into any politician.  They will change…Jesus Christ never changes.

We have a God that is absolutely sufficient in Himself and a God who is never caught unaware, off guard or lacking in anything. The reminder that our Savior, who conquered sin, death, hell and the grave over 2000 years ago, is the same everyday…regardless of how this election turns out.

What a great encouragement for the child of God to know, that we can rest in the faithfulness of our unchanging God.  The outcome of this election will not change God.  I am not sure what you may be facing or what uncertainties may have you feeling trapped in fear, but may the circumstances that you are standing in not overshadow the fact that your God, revealed to you in Christ and in His Word has not, and will not change!

Be encouraged that in a world that continues to change and in a world that is so uncertain, ONE thing never does, and that is Jesus Christ. Take a moment today and celebrate that fact and may the Spirit of our unchanging God awaken us to recognize how awesome our God is. God bless!

May this be your prayer for your life… that your hope is is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and His righteousness.  Now… GO VOTE!!!

One thought on “My Hope is Built on Nothing Less

Leave a Reply

