The Promise

I am an early morning person.

It is something that I love to do… get up early and just enjoy a quiet time in my life.  When I was younger I could sleep in for hours but now I have changed and it is my favorite time of day.

Often, during this time of year, I am leaving the house while it’s still dark.  As I get to the car, I often look up at the early morning stars with awe.  In the silence of the early morning, while no one watches, I look up and I am amazed with wonder of God’s creation.

Yesterday, I was looking up into the sky in the early morning and saw a bright morning star.  From my research, it is not a star at all but it is Venus and its very bright against the black sky this time of year.

As I drove to work in the morning darkness, only lit by the headlights from a passing car, I  looked up at God’s beautiful handiwork.  This planet / star was so bright and in focus.  It was if I could reach up and touch it.  As I looked upon the wonder of God’s creation, I realized the beauty that I see in His creation is not just a random, “by chance” happening.  It was designed by intent and with purpose.  God focused on the job when He created the Universe.  He had a plan and He carried that plan out and we see the wonder of the stars in the morning light.

This reminded of  something that I am working on.  Something that is going to be one of the hardest things I have ever done.  Something that is going to require me to work harder at and focus on than I have for anything for a long time.  I have a plan and I am focused on the goal and the hard work it will take.  I am not ready to announce what I am doing  just yet but it will be a radical change in my life.  It will change everything and make many things right in my life.

My life is an example of caution… because I know what it is to lose focus on what is important in life.  I know how easy it was for me to lose focus when I was younger. I have to say that during those periods of my life I paid a serious price for my lack of concentration.  Times when I took my eyes off the those things that are so important.  God has given me the ability to stay focused as I have grown older and have grown in His grace.

Like no other time in my life I am in a place where the important things are so clear and in focus.   Sometimes in your walk with God your feelings are intense.  Sometimes they are not.  As I was thinking about this God said look out the window again.  I looked and the sun was breaking through the sky and it was a pale blue. I could not see the morning star anymore.  It was no longer visible.   An entire world blotted out.  

One minute ago it was so clear.  The next moment it was gone.  But I knew it was still there.  It was just covered by another beauty.  It was covered by the morning sun that would shine light on more beauty of God’s creation. 

God’s Word and God’s Love is like that. 

We can believe it even if we don’t see it.  I can look up at the sky in the daytime and even though I can not see the stars or the planets I know they are there.  I can’t see them in the day and if I could they really look really small in the light of the day.  These stars and planets are greater and larger than the earth on which I stand, but the sun and the blue sky hide them from our view.  However make no mistake, they are there as sure as anything.  It is part of God’s plan and part of His promise.  His promise to always be there for us.  In times of strife and trouble we may think we are alone but He is there and will never leave.

The Promise

God never said that He would give you silver or gold
Or that you would never feel the fire or shiver in the cold.
But God did say you’d never walk thru this world alone
And He did say don’t make this world your home.

God never said that fear wouldn’t find you in the night
Or that loneliness was something you’d never have to fight.
But God did say He’d be right there by your side
And He did say I’ll always help you fight.

‘Cause you know God made a promise that He intends to keep.
His grace will be sufficient in your time of need.
God’s love will be the anchor that you can hold on to.
This is the promise, this is the promise He has made to you.

God never said that friends would never turn their backs on you
Or that the world around you wouldn’t see you as a fool.
But God did say like me you’ll surely be despised
And He did say His ways confound the wise.

God didn’t say you’d never taste the bitter kiss of death
Or have to walk thru chilly Jordan to enter into rest.
But God did say He’d be waiting right on the other side
And He did say He’ll dry every tear you’ve cried.

‘Cause you know God made a promise that He’s prepared a place
And someday sooner than you think you’ll see Him face to face.
And you’ll sing with the angels and a countless multitude
This is the promise, this is the promise He’s made to you.

So just keep on walking don’t turn to the left or right
And in the midst of darkness let this be your light.
That hell can’t separate us and you’re gonna make it thru
This is the promise, this is the promise He’s made to you.
Oh, this is the promise, this is the promise God has made to you.

God is faithful.  He is faithful at all times.  It is the witness to a faithful God who holds all things together and witnesses to me each morning that he is unchanging as I look up at the planets and the stars…still in their places…just where they are supposed to be, just where they were the day before.

Your love, LORD, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies. – Psalm 36: 4-6

Faithful and true to His promises.  What a great thing to know about God.  Ever the same, showing his power and faithfulness to us by the early morning sky that is always there and whispers in the quiet of the cool morning air that a faithful God is caring for the universe he has made.   He is there with all of us as we make our way through this journey called life.

Thank you, Lord.  I often take your promises and faithfulness for granted, but I’m so grateful for it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

