What Do You Live For?

“And He died for all, that those who live might no longer live for themselves, but for Him who for their sake died and was raised.”           2 Corinthians 5:15

It is so easy as a Christian to embrace the Gospel, praise God for the message and promise of the Gospel and still miss the full depth of it. And I know that may seem as a huge overstatement but I know that in the different seasons and moments of my life it is true.

I thank God for my salvation, I thank God for reconciling me and changing my reality from an enemy of Christ to a friend of God.

I truly am grateful for that, but at times my flesh and my faith can be so weak, that I can quickly revert to living this life  with my focus on my own desires and plans without much consideration for the price He paid for my sins.  I can quickly put my desires and plans in the center of my world instead of His will and desires for my life.

I must focus on the fact that Christ died not to make much of me, but to make much of Him and of the Father.  I want to make sure that I do not ask for anything from Him.  I want to simply say thank you for all that He has given me.

I must stay focused on the fact that Christ died so that my old life would be crucified thru Him and my new life hidden in Him as well. I must set at the forefront of my mind that Christ died so that I in turn would live for Him.

Living for myself is what was leading me to a road of destruction, living for myself is what caused me to feel empty, living for myself is what open the door for failure, living for myself is what tainted every thing in my life, and yet while I was consumed with that type of living, God demonstrated His love towards me by sending His Son to die on the cross for my sin and for my life.

There is no joy or freedom in living for myself.   Truth and peace is found in being hid in Christ and living for Him and Him alone.

I am praying that God would lead me to not to distort the Gospel, but actually walk in the fullness of it. I pray that His Spirit will continue to illuminate my heart and mind and convict my heart of the times when I put myself in the center of God’s universe instead of His glory.  The Gospel is the good news and it’s purpose is not to promote me, but to promote God and His righteousness. 

So this Thanksgiving and Christmas Season I am challenged to live for Christ in a manner that would bring honor to the Christ that lives in me.  I am indeed thankful for the price He paid on the cross for me and for my sin.  

I am challenged to make sure that everyone I know or come in contact with will see Christ living in me.  I am not here on earth to promote myself but to promote the One that died for me.   I am challenged when I see other believer’s live their life so flippantly as it pertains to being an example of Christ to others.  I am challenged when I see so many people who do not know Christ and live their life with no concern or regard to others.  What about you? Where do you stand at this point in your life?

What are you living for right now?

Are you living for yourself?  Do you know Christ as your personal Savior?  If so…How are you representing Christ and your salvation?  Can others see Christ in you?  What would your children say about your walk with Christ? What would your spouse say about it?  More importantly… What would God say about your relationship with Him if you stood face-to-face before Him?

You may not want to answer these questions too quickly.

 Before you give the typical quick answer, it maybe good just to take a moment to ask God to show you in a real way the honest answers for you to give.  If you do not know Jesus Christ as your personal Savior, I have a link in the header of this blog that clearly gives the Plan of Salvation.  If you would like to talk to me directly about any of these issues please feel free to write me at “thelegacybuilder@aol.com”.  I would love to discuss your questions with you.

This holiday season could be the best you have ever experienced if you truly do an evaluation of your life and make things right with Jesus Christ.  My prayers for you as you honestly seek God for the answer to these questions for your life.

Leave a Reply

