He Went Willingly

Crown of righteousnessI can’t seem to get the thought out of my head that Jesus went to the cross, all the while knowing what was ahead of Him.  The Bible said He went gladly “for the joy ahead” but I see in the garden a dread as well, a dread of what He would suffer.

I don’t know about you, but knowing what awaited me (if I were Jesus) would have had me looking for a way out and yet He went willingly.  There was such a love for mankind, for you and me, in His actions that he faced the death with anticipation.

I wonder, as He stood before Pilate, silent while being accused, I wonder what He thought.  

Did He look ahead to the joy of the victory?  

Did He rejoice in God His Father?  What were His thoughts?  

Was He thinking of you and me?  jesus

I believe He was…

Thank you, Jesus, for accomplishing my salvation through the cross.  I am so thankful that the dread of the cross did not change your path.  I’m so glad that with joy you looked ahead to the salvation you would accomplish.  Thank you.  I look forward to the day when I can bow in your presence and praise you for your great love.

One thought on “He Went Willingly

Leave a Reply

