Keep Calm and Keep Your Mouth Shut

“It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.”

That’s either a Chinese Proverb or a one-liner from Mark Twain. Can’t remember at the moment, but it’s one that keep-calmkeeps circulating through my mind today.

It’s a lesson I am desperately trying to apply in my life.  Seems lately I find myself “having” to say it instead of holding my tongue.  As the words spill from my lips and I suddenly find myself in the middle of a mess.

It’s so amazing how quickly you can go from content to convicted. From peace to turmoil.

Like disregarded sparks falling onto a dry field, reckless words can spark hurt feelings. From there, they either stay there smoldering where they land, on the heart of the wounded or spread back to the heart of the one who wounded them. Either way, before you know it, emotions run wild and the whole field is up in flames.

By this point, the words can’t be unspoken, the fire is already started.  But, thankfully the flames can be squelched through the power of forgiveness.

* Moral of the story: Make your words sweet… One day, you may have to eat them. *

One thought on “Keep Calm and Keep Your Mouth Shut

  1. i congratulate you for this blog, i think that is a good i idea to share what you feel, what you believe, what you experience with people who can find inspiration, motivation, solution or help between your words, in some lines i find my self in there i was facing my fear my obstacles my lost talent my research of a talent hiding in me and i could not dicover it yet, sure your blog is a window through it we can introduce in your personnality in search of lessons of life may be we can see a light lightening my own life, so i like your blog, the way that you manage the blog and each article, all the best .

Leave a Reply

