Waiting in Silence

This morning, just after sunrise, I started my drive into work.  Most times my radio is blaring the day’s news even before I start the car. 

But today was different.  Today…I drove in silence.

Waiting in silenceIt kind of took me by surprise because I was 3 or 4 miles into my trek to work before I realized I was driving in complete silence and it was deafening.   I drove for another mile and just stayed quiet.   I didn’t exactly know why.  I just quieted my mind and listened.

What is going on?  What’s wrong?  Is there a problem?

Believe me when I say… no, nothing at all is wrong. 

It is times like these that I realize God is trying to show me something.  Most times I am too busy with the events of the day or the chaos of work to listen to what He is trying to show me.

All I know is that God is working on things I’m completely unaware of.  He’s dealing with things in my life.

For me, the first task is to be silent.  God will respond. l know that He is God.

 I have learned that God is teaching me to be still.  Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still anisaiah 55d know that I am God.”  God is there and He is not silent, but often I fail to listen to His voice.  How do I fix that?  What do I do?

I have to be still. I have to be quiet, quiet my mind, my heart, my voice and wait on Him.  

God has a response… I will know that HE is God.  

I’m seeking Him.  He’s always with me, working in my life…even when I don’t see Him, even when I don’t hear Him.  

In these times I wait.  In these times I will be silent.

He always works in my life in ways that always surprise me.  

I look forward to learn what He has in store for me.

Leave a Reply

