None of It Matters

It is no secret as to how busy life can be.

It seems…the older I get the faster things happen. The days just fly by!

The sad truth is that most of the things and the activities that fill our life today will not even matter five years from now or least they will be distant memories that we will struggle to remember.

As Solomon wrote in Ecclesiastes, “The sun rises and rushes to its setting.”  

One day flies into the next and at times it all seems so futile, so meaningless.   We ask ourselves, “Why am I doing this? Why am I here? Is this all there is?”  

But the reality is that we avoid honestly answering these questions.  We just rush through our days trying to accomplish something…anything. 

Many people in an attempt to avoid acknowledging God’s place in their life, stay busy, thinking they are accomplishing something. Not knowing that none of it matters… without Him.

I have learned that God is teaching me to be still.  Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still and know that I am God.”  God is there and He is not silent, but I have to be still. I have to be quiet, quiet my mind, my heart, my voice and wait on Him.

This week at work I was asked why I always post about my relationship with Jesus Christ. They said that they really did not want to read about it all the time and that people should keep their faith private. My response was to say that I didn’t really want to read a lot of things I see on Facebook and that I believe that what you post is a reflection of who thisyou are. Good or bad… or whether or not you like it or not…this is who I am.

I love my wife, my children and my grandsons. I love Cleveland sports and the Ohio State Buckeyes. But my relationship with Jesus Christ is what defines me. No offense intended to anyone but I will make no apologies for it and will continue to post those things that define who I am.

Whether or not people read the words I write is really not that important.  God knows the words I write because they are the words that reflect my heart.  It has been a wonderful experience and I have no doubt that writing this blog was what I was supposed to do over these past five years.  It was my purpose in life.  It was what I was supposed to do and more importantly it was a way I could still share my faith and have a part in a ministry that could help others in their walk with Christ. 

God forbid that we should think about purpose for our life!

When this life is over it’s not gonna matter how many people followed you on twitter, how many friends you had on Facebook, or how many likes you had on Instagram.

All that will matter is if you fulfilled the purpose God had for your life.

Because none of it matters… without God.

Leave a Reply

