I Want to Be Brave

calvin-hobbes-new-years-resolutions-572x433This is normally a week when many people set goals. Some make resolutions. I don’t do New Year’s Resolutions. My feeling is, if there’s something I want or need to change, why wait until a particular date on the calendar? It makes more sense to get started now.

I do, however, like the idea of choosing a word. ONE WORD to focus on every year. A word that I can use as a roadmap to make my way through life and to help me be more of who and what I am meant to be in 2014.

For me, in 2014, that One Word is BRAVE.

Truth is, I am not brave. FBrave-bannerar from it. I like to avoid the hard stuff.  I procrastinate having the hard conversations and taking the bold steps to share my faith. There’s nothing I find more comforting than hiding in a safe place, away from a dark, scary world.

But that’s not who I want to be, because that’s not someone who gets things done and makes a difference in this world. I honestly want to leave footprints of faithfulness on this earth before God calls me home. I long to teach from God’s Word again and share my faith to those who need to know.

Truth is, I have been hiding for years behind my past failures.  I say I want to be used of God again but fail to put myself in the position to really take those opportunities to do so. I have felt to urge to lead a Men’s Bible Study, but I keep making excuses as to why I can’t do it.

I can’t be a coward. I must be BRAVE.

I want to be BRAVE. I want to fight for what I know is right. I want to overcome my fear of rejection because of my past failures. I want to do things I never thought I coBE brAVEuld do. I want to say “yes” to things that sound crazy and find the reward afterwards. I want to be brave about what is right. I need to ask the tough questions.  I need to go against the grain if the situation calls for it.  I need to try something new.

Yes… in 2014, I want to be Brave.

That’s it. To each one that would read this, being BRAVE might mean something different. You know your situation, just as I know what that word means to me. When you fight for what is right, I believe there’s honor in being BRAVE. I want to have the courage and honor that comes along with it. I know I might lose some things in the process, but being brave is never easy. It will, however, be worth it.

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. (2 Timothy 1:7)

There is tremendous freedom on the other side of your fear. And so I embark in 2014, this fresh, new year, with an attitude and an eye on bravery… my own, as well as yours… Will YOU join me? Will you throw off the security blanket and come out of your cave of comfort to stand up for Christ?

As long as you’re breathing, the possibilities for your life are far greater than you’ve imagined.

Come join me and be BRAVE in 2014 and create an awesome story!!!

one-little-word-2013-Header

Leave a Reply

