Walking Worthy of The Call

Walking-Worthy-Web-Banner

Reading over Ephesians 4 over and over again the past few days has led me to pray for God to do a much needed work in my life.  

 Read it slowly:
 “I therefore, a prisoner of the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all HUMILITY and GENTLENESS, with PATIENCE, BEARING WITH one another in LOVE, eager to maintain the UNITY of the Spirit in the bond of PEACE” (Eph. 4:1-3).

Look at what I am called to live out every day of my life.

Humility.  Have I ever had any humility?

Gentleness.  Anyone who knows me well knows this is never a term that would be used to describe me.

Patience.  Nope.  And the older I get, the worse it seems.  This shouldn’t be!

Forbearance.  This one I really am in the middle of learning, but I am a slow learner.  It often involves shutting my mouth and taking my own selfish, ugly heart to the Lord instead of to another person.

Love.  Just learning how God loves me constantly reminds me of how my love pales in comparison and fails others.

Unity.  Often I am more concerned about myself than the unity of the body.

Peace.  Oh, I say I want it, but am I EAGER to do what it takes to maintain it?  Like denying myself?dividerLord, I am Yours.  Do in me all the work that needs to be done so that I look more like Your Son who exemplifies all of these character traits perfectly.  

Forgive me when I choose to live contrary to Your way as put forth in Your word.  It’s a choice.  A sinful choice. Make my heart grieve over the sinfulness of those choices.  

Thank You for Your great patience with me in this work.  

Please show me progress occasionally so that I am not discouraged.  

Thank You that I can read Your word, every single day to remind me of the work You are accomplishing and want to complete in my life.  

Thank You that the work needed is dependent on You for You are faithful.  I just need to be like Paul, enslaved to You so that I may walk worthy of Your calling.

Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

