Life is Never How You Draw It Up

Life is never how you draw it up.

Today, Saturday… July 11, 2015 will always be a special day for me.  Sometime today I will surpass 500000-sand500,000 visitors to this site. 

To think I would have a blog / website that would have over 500,000 visitors is beyond my comprehension.

It was never my intention.

If you look on the sidebar you will see that it says that I am at 498,363 visitors since September 3, 2008.  Well… in poetic justice it has been stuck on that number for a week or so now.  I have no idea why.  I have tried everything I know to do with the website that tracks such things and to avail it seems to be forever stuck on this number.  My only recourse is to reset the number back to zero.  It is not that important and in some odd way it is better to leave it where it is.  Maybe it is God’s way of keeping me humble. 

Anyway… I have access to the daily number of visitors and I am now only a hundred visitors away.  I will pass the mark sometime today.

A little history…

Writing a blog is hard.   It seems easy but it is hard to maintain and keep going.  It probably is one of the hardest things I have ever done in my walk with Christ.

The last 100,000 visitors took three years to get.  Again… it’s hard.

Most people fail in writing a blog. It is common aspect in the blogosphere.   Dead, unfinished, incompleted blogs that were started with good intentions.  People who get the idea that they want to blog_behind_blogstart a blog and start writing.  Some with the delusional idea that they even want to write a book.  It starts with the premise that they believe they have something to say, something that will be a help and will be an encouragement to another person.  It is done with all the vigor and excitement that they can muster.  The ideas are just flying all over the place. They sit down and empty themselves into a post and when that first post is revised a 100 times they finally post it and in many examples it usually isn’t that bad.  

Then the problem starts.  It doesn’t take them long to realize that writing is hard.  They spent so much emotion and personal information in that first post that they find as they sit at the computer, they are staring at an empty page.   If they are lucky, they may post a few more and then it happens. 

They quit. 

As it does for the vast majority of those that start a blog it sits empty and eventually deleted because of inactivity.  It is like the one-hit wonder of a rock band.  They get one good song and they can’t seem to get past it and eventually the creativity is just a rehash of the original song.  They all just start sounding the same. It is a common problem and one that I struggled with as well.

God has really blessed me with the opportunity to share my faith and I received a lot of encouragement along the way from other believers.  I have made friends that I will never meet in person until I get to heaven as a direct result of this blog.  I also have had my share of detractors.  There are those that have taken the time to be extremely critical of things I would write.  For the most part, I didn’t know those who would be so critical, but I have to admit there are a few  people I once called a friend that have made known their displeasure in me and in the things I write.

Whether or not people read the words I write is really not that important.  God knows the words I write because they are the words that reflect my heart.  It has been a wonderful experience and I have no doubt that writing this blog was what I was supposed to do over these past seven years.  It was my purpose in life.  It was what I was supposed to do and more importantly it was a way I could still share my faith and have a part in a ministry that could help others in their walk with Christ. 

What I have learned is that in spite of the failures in my life, God can still use me.  I have failed a thousand different ways over the years and when I came back to Him, He was faithful and true to forgive me and though I cannot be used in the same way He did years ago.  He still has a purpose for my life.

So… If you’re headed towards the brink, know that there is a way back. 

I’ve learned that it doesn’t all come back.

But in all the change, loss and frustration, I never lost my faith.  I never stopped believing.

I wouldn’t trade the lessons learned. I’ve learned things I never thought I would have to learn.

There are still layers to restore. Some will never be the same.

There may or may not be more blog posts to come. In truth, I will probably post more.  It is just that my blog waaaill no longer be a priority to me.  If I feel like writing… I will.

I am in the process of making a copy of all my posts so that there will be a hard copy to pass on to my grandsons and future grandchildren upon my passing.  I want them to have something that was from me and my heart. Maybe 50 years from now they will read it and smile.

One thing I’ve always tried to do is share my journey and to do so honestly.

Sometimes that’s not for the best.

Thanks again to all those that have extended kind words and played along.

Some footprints leave a deeper imprint than others… those are the ones that later tell a story.

Life is never how you draw it up and sometimes that is a very good thing.

Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Life is Never How You Draw It Up

  1. Congratulations. Your writing has been a blessing to me and my son. Thank you for being kind enough to share the pains you have experienced in your life. We all have, but most of us are not transparent enough to do the same. We find relief through your words.

  2. I can relate to many things you said. Blogging takes dedication, even when it feels like the blogger is tacking up a note on a tree in the middle of nowhere, where no one seems to ever look. Writing is my voice, I hope that God uses it here and there to speak to someone at the right moment. Bear in mind that it is a precious freedom that may be threatened as the world grows more hostile to expressions of faith. I also have the idea to print my blog for the younger folks in my family.

Leave a Reply

