Angels… Every Once In A While

Year after year I would wait anxiously for Christmas morning to wake up everyone, I always thought it to be my responsibility since it was the assumed job for the baby of the family.

Even now as I look through boxes of old Christmas decorations, I am reminded of Related imagethe Christmas of my childhood. I can remember each Christmas since I was probably 6 or 7. I remember every year, starting at Thanksgiving, my growing eager anticipation for the coming Christmas season.

 I always knew Christmas was getting close when Santa, in all his glory, would be waving to everyone from the top of the Oak Harbor Fire truck as they paraded through our little town.

Even as a child I always thought is very suspicious that “Santa” would take time out Image result for santa on firetruckof his busy schedule to ride around the little town of Oak Harbor. Considering that the only world that I knew as a child was defined by the town limit signs, it made perfect sense that he would pick Oak Harbor to start the celebrations, even if I was a little suspicious about it.

I felt bad for the kids from other places because we had Santa here in our midst and they did not. All of us kids would be lined up — pressing our noses against the cold glass of the picture window, waving at Santa as he made his trek around town.

Each child filled with visions of Christmas. Presents dancing in their heads and memories etched forever in remembrance.

christmas-oak-harbor
Photo Credit: Pineapple… XVI

It might just be my imagination, but it seems as if there were more homes with Christmas lights back in the day.  As a kid, I would always look forward to the time when we would drive through town looking at all the lights strung across Water Street in the downtown area, as well as the many neighborhoods that were lit up. I still drive around Oak Harbor sometimes just to see the lights.  It makes me feel rooted, a part of something in my past.

I remember that back then spending time “uptown” during the Christmas season was a celebration.  Long before the “Mall” killed the small-town businesses, each Image result for 1960 ice skateslocal store would display sale items in their front windows.  We would go window shopping to find items for our wish list. I can remember a year when I would stop and stare at this pair of ice skates in the Western Auto store window.

I just knew that this pair of skates would make me the fastest skater at Gleckler’s Pond. Oh, how I wanted them, but as Christmas came and went, the skates stayed in the window. We just couldn’t afford them.

Each year, especially as we get older, things change and it’s during the holiday season is when you realize them.  Most of the stores that once lined Water Street are no longer in existence. The 5 and 10 of W.R. Thomas, The Portage Store, Van Atta’s Restaurant, Lantz’s Rexall Drug Store, Western Auto, Felhaber’s Photography, Nehls Market, Faunce’s Furniture, Hutchison Jewelry and the Modernette Gift Store to name a few.

Even to this very day, it brings a pain to a place in your heart where all your hidden feelings go.  You mask it as progress but in your heart, you know that pieces of your childhood are fading into lost memories. Never to be remembered except for a picture or two.  My children and grandchildren have been cheated. They will never get that experience of window shopping the same way I did as a child.

I can always remember running down the steps on Christmas morning and looking around the tree for the biggest box. I always believed that within thepresent biggest box under the tree would be the most expensive gift and best gift.

I always hoped it would be for me.

But as time works its magic over the years on the mind and soul of a young man, I soon realized that each gift was special, unique, and meaningful.

It wasn’t about the size of the gift but rather the act of giving that brings the best feelings and memories of Christmas mornings.

In fact, the presents that I remember most are the gifts that came directly from the heart. Christmas truly is not about the gift itself, but rather the thought behind the gift.

I learned this truth on a snowy evening a few days before Christmas in 1970.  My brother and cousin died in a car-train crash in early November and it did not feel like Christmas to anyone in our family that year. My mom was trying to go through the motions of the season for us kids but as you can imagine there wasn’t a lot to be happy about.

I was nine.  It was easier for me to be distracted by the celebration of the season than it was for my parents and my older brother and sister.

But I knew. I knew that my mom was not the same. It was a struggle and she was drowning in the loss of a child. I cannot think of anything more tragic.  A parent is not supposed to outlive their child. It is something that I hope my family never has to experience again.

I could see that my mom was different.  The sparkle in her eyes that I always remembered had dimmed. I tried to think of a way where I could make her smile Related imageagain. I had never given my mother a present that I did not make on a piece of paper or a craft made at school. At that time, I really liked to color and draw and make abstract pictures.  So, I sat down and did my very best to make the best picture I have ever done in my life.  I was sure it would make all the difference in the world. 

As a father, some of the most precious gifts I have ever received were the scribblings on a piece of paper made by my children. But when your nine you start to think there is no value in that, so you want to do more.  I looked at my picture that I put all my energy and creative juices in and I just thought it would come up short of making my mom happy again.

I had $1.25 in my piggy bank and I knew what I had to do.  I had to go uptown and find her the perfect present.  Something that would make her be “happy” again.

Oh… the thoughts of a nine-year-old boy.

Somehow, I convinced someone to walk me uptown on that snowy afternoon just a few days before Christmas. I was armed with cash and I was on a mission.

The Hardware Store was my first stop.  As a child, when I would walk into the store, I would take a big whiff.  I loved the smell of the hardware store.

I was never quite sure what made those smells so intoxicating. Maybe it was the hot, oily machine parts from some of the equipment that they sold or just the decades-old hardwood floors of the store.  I can only imagine how many spills of paint, turpentine, and oils that floor has absorbed.  It’s now toxic aroma is just hanging limply in the air along with metal nail dust, shiny tools, and plastic snow shovels.  Yes, even as a child, as I walked those old hardware aisles, I soaked in memories. I remember clearly the creaking wooden floor and that jingle-jangly door clang as the door shut behind you. It was nostalgic then and even more so today.

I didn’t find anything at the Hardware store for my mom that I could afford so we moved on to the 5 & 10 store. Now one would think I could find something in that store for my mom.  I just could not decide and was overwhelmed with all the options.  I was confused and wasn’t satisfied with any of my clantzhoices.

I suddenly found myself in Lantz’s Rexall Drug Store.

I was sure I was wasting my time there. The high school girl who worked there was trying so hard to find me something in my price range to get for my mother. It simply wasn’t going to happen. I would have to go back to W. R. Thomas and sift through the options and find something back there.

It was at that moment that I now realize that angels appear every once in a while.

When you least expect it.

I hear a voice coming from the higmcbainh window where a man was always standing whenever I was in the store. I never saw him ever come out from behind that Pharmacy window.

He asked me, “Are you one of the Lee boys?”

“Yes, sir,” I said.

He came out from behind that window and walked towards me.

He said, “How can I help you, young man?”

“Well sir, I am looking for a present for my mom.”

 “How much do you have to spend?” he asked.

“All I have is $1.25,” I replied.

“What are you looking for son?

I said, “I am not sure, but I want to get her something special.”

He asked, “Does she like perfume?”

“Yes sir, but I do not have enough money to buy something that special.”

He reached up on the top shelf of the perfumes and grabbed a bottle and said, “Do you like this one?”  I nodded in approval.

He looked at me and said, “Well son, this is your lucky day.”

With a big smile, he said, “This went on sale today and it costs exactly $1.25.”

The high school girl who worked there wrapped my present and I gave the man my money and thanked him. As I walked out the door, I looked back, and I saw him still looking at me and smiling. I smile back, and he says, “Merry Christmas, son.”

As a nine-year-old, I thought it blind luck to get such an expensive gift for my mom.  It surpassed all my expectations. I have no idea how much that perfume actually cost but I know it was more than the $1.25 that I paid for it.

Almost 50 years later, I realize that Mr. Mac McBain was an angel sent to help a little boy bring some joy back into a family that had experienced tragedy.  It was all he could do.

Image result for 1970 bottle of drugstore perfumeI gave that present to my mom on Christmas Day. She smiled when she opened it.  One of the first smiles I remember from her in a long time.  Now I know it didn’t make everything ok and my mom wasn’t instantly happy again.  But as a young boy, it was all I had to offer. 

Angels… every once in a while.

I believe that God allows it to happen just enough in our lives to allow us to keep faith in a loving God and the ability to hold on to the hope for a better world.

My angel that year was Mr. McBain.  He made the difference in a little boy who just wanted to make his mother happy once again.

My thoughts are with you, sir… I will never forget you and that day.  It made December 25, 1970, feel a little bit more like Christmas.

Merry Christmas Everyone.

2 thoughts on “Angels… Every Once In A While

  1. Beautifully written! I remember growing up in Oak Harbor, with the amazing sights, sounds, smells of the stores (Happy Dupler’s cigar), and the people. My first job was at Van Atta’s, and each morning, the stools would be filled with the store owners. I jokingly told Stan Mylander that I was going to buy a diamond necklace with my first paycheck. On my birthday, and first payday, he said today is your birthday, come to my store after work. I went, looked at all the beautiful jewelry, and he said which one do you like, so I can show it to you. I found a dainty white gold heart with a small diamond which I loved! He asked me how much my check was and I told him $35., to which he said, ” That is the exact price of this necklace! ” I still have it to this day, and I learned how loving all our store owners were. Thank you for reminding me of how blessed we were!

Leave a Reply

