Day: April 20, 2017

525,000 and Counting

Before you think that posting my stat numbers is bragging… I promise you, it’s not.

I am humbled by the fact that I have been able to keep it going this long.  So many blogs have come and gone over the years since I started writing. 

During the 8-plus years of writing this blog, I’ve seen my reader numbers rise and fall. Sometimes dramatically. I have learned to not let statistics drive my writing. I am tenacious. Stubborn. Determined. If I think a post is good — I’Image result for Footprints of a legacy left behindll keep putting it out there until it gets its due.

I’ve been watching “Footprint’s of a Legacy Left Behind” numbers climb.

Despite hearing repeatedly how “blogging is dying.”

I’ve seen my statistics continue to remain steady.  Just about the time I think it is over and it is time to quit, I get a wave of new people reading my site.

I have always wondered what makes some sites “popular,” while others die off without so much a bang.

Most just fade away.

Sometimes, it’s because the blogger loses interest, gets busy with work or whatever else. Other times, there’s a sense of mental exhaustion. Good ideas popping when the blog began fade and there’s nothing new. It isn’t easy to write day after day. 

It is one of the hardest things I have ever done in my life.

Writing.

It isn’t exactly automatic, these days I don’t always have the words to say. 

I always look for inspiration. 

I always look for a reason to write.

Lately, most days… I can’t find a reason.

I struggle to be creative. I struggle with keeping it fresh.  I struggle with writing about things I have written about before.  

I find myself using titles that I used in the past.  I always have to check my database to ensure that I don’t use one from the past.  https://thelegacybuilder.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/blank-notebook-and-pen-300x247.jpg?w=211&h=174

Before blogging, my best writing was done with pen and paper on long writing pads. Collectively those writings were by far my best.  I was a blogger before there was such a thing.

A young mind that was full of fresh ideas, stories and perspectives.

They are now gone… buried, forever lost and inaccessible.  

When blogging arrived, I instantly realized I was late to the party. Like many things in my life, I came to the party and left before it started and by the time I made my way back the party was over.    

Over the years writing, “Footprint’s of a Legacy Left Behind”, I have learned that I like writing. I’ve always liked it, since the first time I posted my first article.

People now read what I write. I am still not sure how I feel about that.

I have been amazed — and still am — by all of you who have dropped by.

I started this blog over 8 years ago, by myself, from nothing.

I now have accumulated over a half million visitors!

I know I’m small potatoes compared to many other sites. I know bloggers who have millions of hits and tens of thousands of followers.  

For me, this is fine.

When it works… when I am inspired,Image result for Keep on writing it’s fun.  I get to write whatever I want, when I want … or not.

No one tells me what to say or in how many words in which to say it.

Thank you for finding “Footprint’s of a Legacy Left Behind” interesting enough to visit every now and then, especially when there is so much else going on in the world.

What are my chances of making it to a million?

Only time will tell.

In the meantime, I’ll just keep writing.

