Eternity is a Long Time to be Wrong

There has always been an ebb and flow to this whole blogging thing.  I did not start writing at height of the blogging sensation, but rather as it was winding down. I’ve never been one to have the timing down and I usually have to play catch up.

I am still amazed that people still read it.

Lately, I’m writing not so much because a whole bunch of people are reading my posts, but more for my own sake.  I write for me now more than ever.  I admit that writing for myself is intentional.   I have been asked by few people about how I kept a blog going for ten years?  I told them the best writing advice I can give is to write with intention. That intention may change overhttps://i2.wp.com/marionroach.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/Write-Wiht-Intent-2-300x300.png the years but always write with a positive intention in mind. Writing, for me, should encourage as well as challenge.

Life has changed a lot in the ten years it’s been since I started this blog. The recent years have taught me a lot of reasons to be intentional about nurturing my faith.

While I have always wanted to help people, or at least point people in the right direction (according to my perspective) with the things I write.  I have learned that a few people don’t want to hear what I have to say or they just want to argue, challenge and fight.  I could never imagine how real life is for some people because 90% of their time is spent arguing over things that have no eternal significance.

It’s one of the reasons I rarely approve comments to this site. I have been attacked for this as well. They accuse me of “blocking” their opinion and it frustrates them. I always tell them that, “This blog is intended to be a devotional and insprational site. I choose not to make it a platform for theological or political debate, although I will write about what I believe.   I reserve the right to delete any comment without any reason at all.  You are free to write your own blog. If you don’t like my story… write your own.”

Now it is that little term “I will write about what I believe” that gets people going. I cannot tell you how many times I was personally attacked for spiritual and political perspectives I never stated I believed in.

Imagine that…  when you open yourself up and put yourself out there, people will attack.  Regardless of “what” you say, people interpret it in ways never intended for “it” to be taken.  They even accuse you of saying things you have NEVER said.  This is true, regardless if it comes from my friends, my family or someone I do not know.

I’ve grown extremely tired of worrying and having that old feeling of impending drama when I write sometimes. I worry because there are times I wonder what will be taken out of context now?

I am well aware that I don’t have all of the answers.  There are things I am still trying to figure out.  I don’t have to know if there is life out there on another planet. I don’t have to know how certain things happened in the Bible. Because I am white, male and conservative, doesn’t mean I am a racist or that I voted for Trump and I hate all women.

How do people in their 20 and 30’s think they “know” answers to questions that have not been fully answered for hundreds of years?  They want to argue with me over things that have no eternal significance.  They get angry because I won’t engage in the debate.  They get frustrated when I tell them it doesnEternity‘t matter… what matters is what you do with Jesus Christ and the salvation He provided on the cross.  Everything else is secondary.  I can be wrong about a lot of things that are in the Bible.  But an eternity is a long time to be wrong about Jesus Christ. 

Life is interesting how it binds us. 

We can cruise along through days and weeks and even months and somehow ignore our own mortality.  We know deep down in our hearts that we are only here for a moment, that our lives will end in death, and that everything we see and feel and do will be gone.  But somehow, the glitter and complications of life keep us occupied, and keep our minds far away from thoughts about coming to an understanding of what we should do about Jesus Christ, our reason for living, our purpose in life, and our destination afterward. 

Sin and worry are not worth the price you pay.

Focusing only on worldly things is hilariously tragic.

Again… you and I can be wrong on a lot of things, but we can’t get it wrong about what we do about Jesus Christ.  Eternity is a long time to be wrong.

Scrambling to protect yourself against potential accidents, the fear of losing someone, pain, health problems, car problems, home repairs, etc can be overwhelming if you don’t have Jesus Christ.

I honestly do not know how people who don’t have Christ do it.

When I am intentional about focusing my mind on Christ and trusting Him for absolutely everything, I get my peace back.

One day, He will return or I will die and all of this will seem like some silly dream I had a long, long time ago.

While I have no death wish, I look forward to that day.

I have no idea what a carefree, painless, sinless world looks like, but I trust it’s coming. I would encourage everyone to figure out what they beliall abouteve about these great truths, and to clearly examine why and how they have these beliefs. 

You must choose what you are going to do about trusting Jesus Christ.  Getting the “eternity” part of your existence into proper framework is absolutely critical.  What is this life all about?  What happens when it’s over? 

The Bible holds the answers to this. 

Man was created by God, fell into sin, and therefore separated himself from God.  Jesus Christ came into the world as a man, lived the perfect life none of us could live, died the death of punishment that we should have received, then rose again from the dead, proving He was the only begotten Son of God.

Heard it all before?  Turned off by people who profess to believe in Christ but don’t glorify Him with their lives?

But just because I had heard it all before didn’t make it any less true.  And just because God’s people struggle with sin, and some profesAlones Him falsely, doesn’t make His saving Grace on the cross on my behalf any less true!

What I couldn’t deny is how I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that I was a sinner.  I also knew I was powerless to do anything about it on my own.  I knew that at the end of the struggle with sin I would die in my sins.  Only Christ has the power to save me from this deadend street.  His finished work on the cross is salvation.

Imagine an eternity where all pain, hurt and discomfort doesn’t exist.

For now, I set my mind on Christ and look forward to that. 

I will continue to write about what I believe.

I am still learning and growing. I don’t have to know everything. I just need to know what I trust and believe about Jesus Christ.

Eternity is a long time to be wrong about that.

Leave a Reply

